Productivity is a Snowball

So, amazingly, a few people have followed this blog. To you unfortunate souls, hello!

I wasn’t sure what to write about. I got a new book, so book review? That sounds interesting and also gets me rolling on how I want others to see my blog. But my desk is a mess, so I can’t take aesthetically pleasing photographs of it for all you folks to see.

How about reviewing tea? I have three tins of DavidsTea in my kitchen that I could definitely talk about. But I bought those in Montreal, and the labels are in French, and my phone is out of storage and I can’t even take photos…

It seems like everything I want to write about, I make an excuse to not do it. And then the day rolls on and it has been another ordinary, unproductive day.

For those of you who can relate to me and my laziness, I can guarantee you there’s a way to change that. It’s a bit like a snowball. Initially, getting started is hard and your efforts will crumble or melt apart. It’s easy to quit at that stage and say you tried. But you can get around that.


Usually, I make a list of things that have to be done. Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.40.43 PM

Then, I split the broader ones into smaller steps and re-order everything in order of easiest to hardest/most time consuming.Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.43.28 PM

If you’re someone who finds long lists overwhelming, perhaps breaking down your chores is a step you would prefer to skip. I’ll explain why I make my lists 8 miles long in a second.

First, I just wanted to comment that sometimes the location of rooms in my house contributes to the order that I put my chores in. For example, I handwash my bras in the sink that is literally half a metre from my washing machine, so I put those chores right after each other. By putting those chores together, I minimize the risk of me going, “Damn, the washing machine is all the way downstairs and I don’t want to do it” and therefore ruining my streak of productivity. Another example is that I put “putting away clothes” and “clean room” beside each other because part of the mess in my room is barely-worn clothes tossed on my bed and chair, and putting away clean clothes would get me putting away old clothes and therefore snowballing into everything getting put away.

So, why do I make my lists so unnecessarily long? It helps me feel productive, and when I feel productive, I want to be more productive. I load the washer and press start, and that’s one thing I can check off. Wow, it feels so good to check that off! I feel motivated to go ahead and check some other stuff off too. What’s next on my list? An excuse note for my absence at school today? Damn, that’s so trivial, might as well just pop that off my list too. I write my note, stick it in my binder. My binder is open, there’s that article I have to read for French. Might as well read it. I’ve read it, but I’m bored of sitting. The washer is done, so I’ll load the dryer. And in that manner, I can check off five things and not even feel tired.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 12.49.21 PM

After that, my small efforts towards productivity pick up speed. That little crumbly ball of snow has picked up speed and more snow, and it is rolling, my friends. I’m doing things for the insane joy of crossing things off my list, and then when I get towards the hard stuff at the end, I motor right through it because God it is so satisfying to see a checklist with everything checked off.

I hope that helps all of you lovely people out there who are capable of doing great things, but maybe another day because God if I have to get off this couch I will kill myself.

Get off your couch, guys. Do great things. (Or your laundry. It’ll roll from there).

~Rhea

Leave a Reply

