Book Review – More Than This

Hi guys!

So, if you remember, a while ago I did a book haul where I got More Than This by Patrick Ness. You should know that I won’t put spoilers in this review, but I might write another one in which I go more in-depth and there will be spoilers in that one.

IMG_0013

PREMISE

More Than This is a book about Seth Wearing, a boy who drowns in a frigid ocean near Washington only to wake up in his town of origin near London, England. Through a series of flashbacks and exploration, the reader learns about Seth’s life before his death and the factors that built up to it, such as his family background, his relationships (both platonic and romantic), as well as social conditions. The book takes an interesting twist which shocks both Seth and the reader and has an extremely nail-biting and interesting finish.

Patrick Ness deals with a lot of questions about life and death in his book. Do our lives matter? Where do we go when we die? Is the experience of human life worth the cost of human life? Can anything be private? How do you determine guilt amongst youth? Is death – and life – meaningless?


REVIEW

I loved this book. As I said earlier, I wasn’t going to spoil anything, but it’s also the kind of book you can’t talk about without spoiling. All I can say is that I was deeply invested as Seth was when he started to recover his memories, and that there was one very big twist that almost made me throw the damn book. All in all, a lot of the themes and experiences that Seth goes through hit home for me, and so I think it was a great book.

Premise Originality: 5/5 stars

Execution and General Storyline: 4/5 stars

Character Development and Realism: 4/5 stars

World-building: 4/5 stars

Total: 17/20 stars

I was going to dock marks for one of the twists, but then I realized it was unfair to dock marks for the way Patrick Ness wrote his book just because I would have written it differently.

Comment below if you’ve read – or are planning to read – More Than This!

~ Rhea

Leave a Reply

