Book Review – P.S. I Still Love You

Hi guys!

So, a while ago Indigo did this thing where paperbacks were $10 dollars each, and so I picked up a couple of old favourites and new titles that looked promising. One of them was To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, by Jenny Han. I read this first in 2014 (snagged it from the library) and I loved the premise and even though it was totally predictable, it was cute and I was definitely loving the bits of culture and sisterly love scattered throughout. Naturally, when I saw that the sequel, P.S. I Still Love You was also part of this Indigo sale, I had to grab that too. Unfortunately, I wasn’t impressed.

IMG_0402

PREMISE

P.S. I Still Love You picks up on New Years Day following the ski trip in the last book. If you haven’t read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, this is a bit of a spoiler. It is revealed that Lara Jean and Peter were recorded in the hot tub, and the video has been posted on Instagram and has gone viral. Despite the fact that Lara Jean suspects Peter’s ex-girlfriend, Genevieve, of posting the video to cause her misery, Peter sticks up for Genevieve and spends a great deal of time with her, causing riffs between the new couple. In the midst of this chaos, a love letter from the first book has summoned a new suitor for Lara Jean, creating a love triangle between the underdog and the first love.

Despite my disdain for love triangles, Jenny Han touches on a relevant current issue: social media and bullying, specifically, slut-shaming. While I thought there could have been a greater focus on this issue – because most girls face it – I appreciated the fact that Jenny chose to write about it at all.

Premise Originality: 3/5 stars

Execution and General Storyline: 2/5 stars

Character Development and Realism: 3/5 stars

World-building: 3/5 stars

Total: 14/20 stars

Marks docked for a reason I will explain in a later article due to major spoilers. I’ll link it here once I’ve written it.

Until next time,

~ Rhea

Leave a Reply

